Add to Yahoo
Add to Netvibes
Add to Feed Burner
Add to SubToMe
Add to Bitty Browser
Subscribe With Feed Burner
Dale Earnhardt Jr Secures A First Place Start For The Alabama 500
Artist Rendering of Dale Earnhardt Jr Secures A First Place Start For The Alabama 500
2017-10-14 Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins his first pole at Talladega Superspeedway for tomorrows Alabama 500.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start first for his final start at Talladega Superspeedway, a track he has six wins at.

Earnhardt Jr. lapped the 2.66-mile track with a speed of 190.544 mph to capture the top spot.

“Really, all the credit for getting a pole at a place like this goes to the team and goes to the car and the guys that work on it, the engine, the body men, we’ve got an amazing staff back at Charlotte that builds some awesome stuff,” Earnhardt Jr. said. “I just hold the wheel straight and try not to bounce into the apron, but get as close to it as you can and make sure you run a clean lap. But there ain’t much to it as a driver. This place has meant a lot to me. It’s awesome to hear those fans happy for us and hopefully we’re going to give them a lot more to cheer about before this weekend is over.”

Earnhardt Jr.’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate Chase Elliott will start outside the front row. Joey Logano, Kurt Busch and spring Talladega race winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. rounded out the top five.

“We’ve always raced well, but we haven’t really qualified well here in a long time, so it’s cool to see the speed in our car,” said Logano, who is shooting for his third straight fall Talladega race win.

“That’s a good sign. That’s something we’ve never really had in qualifying, so that makes me feel good about the race and maybe we can make some bold moves and do some things with some speed in the car and keep ourselves up there and win this thing.”

Brad Keselowski, Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Blaney and Trevor Bayne completed the first ten qualifiers.

"I thought we had decent speed,” Blaney said. “We're wide open. Drivers don't do much here. (Crew chief) Jeremy (Bullins) and everybody on the team sets its up. I thought we had a good car. We'll see what we do Sunday."

Other playoff drivers in Sunday’s starting lineup include Kyle Larson (12th), Denny Hamlin (15th), Kyle Busch (16th), Jamie McMurray (17th), Matt Kenseth (19th), Martin Truex Jr. (21st) and Kevin Harvick (22nd).

Copyright © 2005 - 2018 Carnut Heaven ® - All Rights Reserved All images included in this site: text, graphics, logos,and icons, are the property of Carnut Heaven or it's suppliers and are protected by U.S. and International copyright laws. This site is a product of ACM Service, LLC Map Page